Tier10 Named a Finalist in 2019 DC ADDY Awards | Tier10lab
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top


No Comments

Tier10 Named a Finalist in 2019 DC ADDY Awards | Tier10lab

Tier10 | On 22, Feb 2019

Tier10 was named a finalist in the 2019 American Advertising Awards – DC for its long-form video, “Acura + Precision Crafted Performance.” Tier10 will go up against the other finalists to be honored with a Gold or Silver American Advertising Award at the ADDY Awards DC gala on March 21at the Carnegie Institution for Science in Washington, D.C.

Tier10’s entry tells the story of Acura’s return to the world of racing at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen race, a grueling six-hour endurance race that has been a part of many national and international racing championships. Filmed over the July 1st weekend at Watkins Glen International Raceway in New York, the piece explores in part the brand’s absence from the world of motorsports before experiencing a dominant revival in the world of racing, led by designer-turned-GM Jon Ikeda.

Filming the event was a multi-day affair involving long hours and scorching summer afternoons in triple-digit heat. Despite the harsh conditions, Tier10’s Chief Creative Officer Scott Rodgers felt that it was all worth it for the sake of capturing the perfect story.

“We had the unique opportunity of not only being able to tell the story but being able to tell it right,” explained Rodgers. “The guys at Acura knew we had the right crew, the right equipment, the right everything to do the Racing Program and the brand justice, and we were thrilled at the chance to accomplish just that.”

The video includes interviews and insightful commentary from several prominent members of Acura Penske Racing, Honda of America Racing Team (HART), and Meyer Shank Racing, such as owner of Meyer Shank Racing Michael Shank, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Honda Performance Development Steve Erikson, HART Racing’s Ryan Eversley, and Acura Team Penske drivers Helio Castroneves, Dane Cameron, Juan Pablo Montoya, and Ricky Taylor.

The American Advertising Awards Competition, formerly the ADDYs, is a three-tiered national competition conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF), its chapters, and districts. With 40,000 entries nationwide, the competition is the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition for creative excellence.